## March 2, 2023

Board met in regular session at 8:30 a.m. Members present Diana Dawley, Jeff Tindle and Jason Roudabush. Present: Missy Eilander, Auditor; Rachael Kinnick, Grinnell Chamber of Commerce

Chairman Roudabush led the pledge of allegiance.

Moved by Dawley, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tindle to approve amended agenda to add approval of letter authorizing Jeff Tindle to sign on behalf of Poweshiek County at the FSA Office in Malcom. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Tindle, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dawley to approve February 27, 2023, board minutes. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Dawley, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tindle to approve March 3, 2023, Poweshiek County Payroll for \$274,288.38. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Dawley, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tindle to approve the following utility permits:

Utility Permit #23-23U to Searsboro Telephone Company for work in Section 8, Union Township & Section 14, Washington Township

Utility Permit #23-24U to Lynnville Telephone Company for work in Sections 7, 17 & 18, Washington Township

Utility Permit #23-25U to Brooklyn Municipal Utilities for work in Section 14, Bear Creek Township Utility Permit #23-26U to Brooklyn Municipal Utilities for work in Section 14, Bear Creek Township 3 ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Tindle, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dawley to authorize Chairman Roudabush to sign DOT application & agreement to perform work within State Highway right-of-way in Section 10, Sugar Creek Township. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Tindle, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dawley to approve Resolution #2023-37 setting compensation of members of election boards. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

## Resolution #2023-37 Compensation of Members of Election Boards

WHEREAS, Iowa Code § 49.20 authorizes the county board of supervisors to establish the compensation of members of election boards, and

WHEREAS, the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors does acknowledge the importance of Precinct Election Officials and Support Staff in the Election Process.

WHEREAS, the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors approve the following hourly rates for Precinct Election Officials and Support Staff effective July 1, 2023.

Position	Recommended Salary
Precinct Election Official	\$14.00/Hour
Precinct Election Official – Chair or Co-Chair	\$15.00/Hour
Election TM Runner	\$14.00/Hour

WHEREAS, the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors approves a mileage rate for all election workers that travel for service in an election following the standard county mileage reimbursement rate.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors hereby adopts the compensation recommendations for the previously listed workers, which will remain in effect until a new compensation policy is passed.

Dated this 3 day of March 2023.

POWESHIEK COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS Jason Roudabush, Chairman

Diana Dawley, Vice Chairman Jeff Tindle, Member Attest: Melissa Eilander, Poweshiek County Auditor

Moved by Dawley, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tindle to approve Resolution #2023-38 setting compensation of township clerks & trustees. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

## **Resolution #2023-38** Compensation of Township Clerks and Trustees

WHEREAS, the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors authorizes, effective July 1, 2023, all Township Trustees and Clerks be compensated at the rate of \$30.00 per meeting, and

WHEREAS, the Board has not given any direction in the past as to the expected frequency of meeting for either Township Trustees or Clerks, and

WHEREAS, the Board now wishes to set a level of expectation as to the number of compensated meetings per fiscal year for Township Trustees and Clerks.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors authorizes, effective July 1, 2023, the following compensation and minimum/maximum number of meetings be set as follows:

1. All Township Trustees will be compensated \$30.00 for each official meeting they attend.

2. Clerks are expected to conduct work sessions to update township receipts, disbursements, and other official records. Only Township Clerks will be compensated for said work sessions and with a pay at \$7.25 per hour. All Township Clerks will be compensated \$30.00 per meeting they attend.

3. All Township Trustees and Clerks shall turn in their completed timesheets to the County Auditor's Office in a timely manner.

Dated this 2 day of March 2023.

POWESHIEK COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS Jason Roudabush, Chairman Diana Dawley, Vice Chairman Jeff Tindle, Member Attest: Melissa Eilander, Poweshiek County Auditor

Moved by Tindle, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dawley to approve Resolution #2023-39 setting compensation of Poweshiek County boards & commission members. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

## Resolution #2023-39 Compensation of Poweshiek County Boards & Commission Members

WHEREAS, the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors authorizes, effective July 1, 2023, Poweshiek County Boards and Commission members be compensated at the rate of \$30.00 per meeting.

WHEREAS, the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors authorizes Poweshiek County Boards and Commission members to be compensated for mileage at a rate as authorized by the Board each year.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Poweshiek County Board of Supervisors authorizes, effective July 1, 2023, hereby adopts said compensation for the following Poweshiek County Boards and Commission members, which will remain in effect until a new compensation policy is passed:

- Poweshiek County Zoning Board of Adjustment
- Poweshiek County Zoning Commission
- Poweshiek County Veteran Affairs Commission

Dated this 3 day of March 2023.

POWESHIEK COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS Jason Roudabush, Chairman Diana Dawley, Vice Chairman Jeff Tindle, Member Attest: Melissa Eilander, Poweshiek County Auditor

Moved by Dawley, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Roudabush to authorize Chairman Roudabush to sign the letter authorizing Jeff Tindle to sign on behalf of Poweshiek County at the FSA Office in Malcom. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

9:01 a.m. Board had a conference call with attorney John Danos regarding the Sapphire Lake proposed project and TIF.

9:10 a.m. Missy Eilander, Auditor, left meeting.

9:59 a.m. Moved by Tindle, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dawley to adjourn so the board could attend the Assessor's Conference Board meeting at 10:00AM. 3 ayes. Motion carried.

Laura M Tish, Assistance Commissioner of Elections/Accounting Tech

Jason Roudabush, Chairman