Poweshiek County Community Services

Central Iowa Community Services – Poweshiek County

Office Hours 8:00-4:30 Mon-Fri

Poweshiek County Community Services is a part of the CICS Region. CICS is a ten county region that was formulated under the Iowa Code Chapter 28E to create a mental health and disability service region in compliance with Iowa Code 331.390. Central Iowa Community Services (CICS) provides coordination and financial support for mental health and disability services to individuals located in the 10 county area.  

Who is eligible for funding?

To be eligible for MHDS funded services, and individual must:

  • Have a diagnosis of mental illness, intellectual disability, or a developmental disability
  • Meet specified income and resource guidelines
  • Reside in Poweshiek County
  • Complete an assessment process to determine service needs

To begin the process you can fill out the referral form located in the box, complete an application or schedule at time to meet with the Service Coordinator.

Services Available:

  • Mental Health Services
  • Clubhouse
  • Supported Employment
  • Supported Community Living
  • Respite Services
  • Day Hab
  • Service Coordination
  • General Assistance

For other service needs refer to the Management Plan below.

Office Staff:

  1. Susan Hiner, Administrative Assistant/Poweshiek County General Assistance Director
    shiner@poweshiekcounty.org or susan.hiner@cicsmhds.org
  2. Brenda Daily, Service Coordinator
    bdaily@poweshiekcounty.org or brenda.daily@cicsmhds.org
  3. Jody Eaton, Chief Executive Officer
    jody.eaton@cicsmhds.org
  4. Betsy Stursma, Coordination Officer
    betsy.stursma@cicsmhds.org

Link to CICS Regional website:

https://www.cicsmhds.org

PO Box 401
200 4th Avenue West
Grinnell, IA 50112
Phone: (641) 236-9199 Fax: (641) 236-1349
Office Hours 8:00-4:30 Mon – Fr